Eric Dultz Blog

16 Dec

Eric Dultz

From a young age I have always had an interest in German language. I would have taken it in high school. Had it been offered, but since it was not I had to content myself with French and Spanish, both of which bored me quite frankly. Both sides of my family have Germanic heritage, though not from what would be considered modern-day Germany since my lineage can be traced to regions that are now in Poland and the Czech Republic. I have always felt that German culture’s emphasis on hard work, respect, and order matches up very well with my personal ideals and beliefs, and contributed to my interest of the language that grew around such an interesting culture

Additionally, I am a large fan of cars and motorized vehicles, and Germany is famous for the quality of vehicles it has produced throughout history. It is no coincidence that many pioneers of the automotive technology we see today were German, and we still see their names alive and well today. Karl Benz, Gottlieb Daimler, Wilhelm Maybach, and Rudolf Diesel are all names that are very familiar to any engineer, and familiar even to someone with an eye in the luxury car market. It is for good reason that companies like Maybach, Daimler-Chrysler, and Mercedes-Benz are named so. They are named after the pioneers who built them up from the ground.

Another reason for my interest in German was discovered to me only this summer. I began serving food at a local restaurant that served German-based cuisine, and I happened to find out that I loved it. My particular favorite was the jaegerschnitzel, with the reuben coming in a close second (the sauerkraut in it was made on premises, just making it all the better). Bearing all this in mind, my decision to take German when I returned to school was solidified, for I wanted to know more about this wonderful culture and its language

 

Leave a Reply

