What grabbed my attention.

7 Dec

During my senior year in high school, I took a European history class, in which we obviously learned about the history. Part of this course included art from France, England, Spain and of course Germany. Before this class, I already had an interest in the German language because I am very into cars. My favorite cars originate from Italy and Germany, and so I would constantly watch videos on YouTube and other networks, many of them being in German. I always wished I could understand what the commentators and narrators were saying, and so from then on I wished to learn the language. I also, want to learn the language because I hope to visit Germany one day to experience these cars for myself. It would be nice if I could have my own encounter with these German cars I so like, and so learning the stepping stone to the language would be a great help. All my friends said that the German language always sounds angry, or unattractive. I on the other hand have a different opinion. I really like the German language and how it sounds. I think it’s unique and “out of the norm” to take German, since a lot of students opt to take French or Spanish. I wanted to take a language that other people wouldn’t normally take, and also something that could help me in the future. I wouldn’t mind going to Germany to work, for I am a Chemistry major, and Germany could be a good place for me.
Another main reason was my friend from my hometown speaks German fluently, so he had a great impact on my interest. I would always want to converse with him, but was never able to. Hopefully after German 101, I will be able to talk with him a little bit.

AL

One Response to “What grabbed my attention.”

  1. MV December 9, 2010 at 1:29 am #

    I also like the sound of German.

Leave a Reply

