Multiculturalism

6 Dec

I agree with Germany’s Chancellor Merkel’s stance on ending the policy of multiculturalism.  Even though I am Turkish and I have many relatives that live in Germany, I don’t believe that their open door policy will work as it does in the U.S.  Which as of lately hasn’t been working to well either.  Germany is a geographically small country and cannot sustain the influx of immigrants from Turkey and other Arab countries.  I understand the reasons why these immigrants choose to leave their country.  With unemployment running rampant and living conditions that are sub standard and a government that is not only fundamentalist but corrupt as well, who wouldn’t want to flee.  So with the huge number of “guest workers”, Germany is like a balloon that is about to pop.  Too many people in such a small area will eventually lead to friction and that leads to animosity.  German citizens have a legitimate argument against this policy of multiculturalism.  Immigrants are displacing German jobs and are not integrating into German society.  Instead they refuse to learn the German language which is the first step to assimilate into the society.  Nobody will deny ones cultural heritage but when permanently entering another country, one must put forth some effort to try and fit in.  Turkey’s own President scolded the Turkish community living in Germany for not even attempting to learn the language much less be fluent.  This language barrier is a big part of the problem along with conflicts between Islamic culture and German laws.  I feel that if I invite someone to live in my house, I would expect that person to abide by my rules otherwise I would ask them to leave.  It is a simple analogy but its almost a mirror of what is happening in Germany today.  If I was to immigrate to another country I would think that it would be prudent to pick a country where my values and beliefs would be a better fit.

SG

One Response to “Multiculturalism”

  1. MV December 9, 2010 at 1:33 am #

    That’s the downside of ethnic communities. One can get by without knowing a word in a foreign country.

Leave a Reply

